Visit Antigua Guatemala

Antigua is the capital city of the Department of Sacatepéquez. It is also known as Santiago de los Caballeros de Antigua Guatemala. Antigua was declared a Heritage of Humanity Site by UNESCO en 1979.


Antigua was the seat of the third capital of Guatemala, known as the Kingdom of Guatemala. The first capital of Guatemala was founded in 1527 in Iximché. From there it was transferred to the Valley of Almolonga that was destroyed by a flood from the Agua Volcano.

In 1543, Juan Bautista Antonelli began the construction of what is now Antigua in the Valley of Panchoy. During its maximum splendor it was known as one of the most beautiful cities of the Spanish Colonies in the New World. It is called the City of Perpetual Roses and its inhabitants are called Panzas Verdes.

The Santa Marta earthquakes destroyed a large portion of Antigua so the President of the High Court, Martin de Mayorga decided to reconstruct the city in a different and safer location.

The new city was named La Nueva Guatemala de la Asunción and is today Guatemala City.

Places to Visit

The most popular destinations are:

  • Historic Center in Guatemala City
  • Antigua Guatemala
  • Basílica of Esquipulas
  • San Felipe Castle
  • Chichicastenango
  • Lake Atitlán
  • Panajachel
  • Quiriguá
  • Río Dulce
  • Semuc Champey
  • Tikal National Park
  • Monterrico
  • Tecpán
  • Quetzaltenango
  • Laguna de Lachuá
  • Biotopo del Quetzal, in Cobán